Congratulations to BCIT TV Alumni Ryan Pears!

Another big awards night for a local animator. Ryan Pears and his team took Best Animated Web Series at the 2014 Vancouver Webfest Sunday. Pears, collaborating with Holly Pavlik and Travis Gingrich, have created an animated web series centred around a comedic look at the lives of two video game characters.



Tagged with:  

2013 Graduating Award Winners

On June 24, 2013, in Television & Video Production, by Television Faculty

Congratulations to our 2013 Graduating Award winners!

  • Kim Ngo, who was awarded the Robert Malcolm Memorial Award, presented by Television Program Head, Ashif Jivraj
  • Johnson Jiang, who was awarded the Azar and Bijan Shadmehr award, presented by Ramin Shadmehr, Program Head of BCIT D3 (Digital Design & Development)


Congratulations to BCIT Television & Video Production’s production team “Vérité” for their second win of the year as they pick up the 2013 Broadcast Educators Association of Canada’s first-place award in the Video Drama category for their production of The Haze.

The judges complimented the production on the script, editing, sound design, post-production colour timing and pacing of the story.

The award will be presented at the annual Awards Gala at the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge on May 25th

Tagged with:  

Vérité – The Haze

On April 7, 2013, in Television & Video Production, by Television Faculty


Congratulations to BCIT Television & Video Production’s team “Vérité” for their Honourable Mention in the Student Video – Narrative category from the Broadcast Educators of America.

Tagged with:  

Zut Alors wins for the BEAC x 2!

On April 30, 2010, in Television & Video Production, by Television Faculty

Zut Alors, one of our second-year production companies has just won two awards from the Broadcast Educators Association of Canada!

“Complicity” won for best Drama.

Written and Directed by Dylan Adkins, Produced by Lauren Weidel, Edited by Justin Li, Director of Photography – Jordan Lee, Assistant Director – Courtney Dunsmoor-Farley, Audio Supervisor – Denis Falardeau.

Complicity from Zut Alors on Vimeo.

Judges’ Comments:

  • Initial impression- STYLISH!
  • Great sequences with good composition
  • Superior use of music to create tension
  • Excellent editing, music transitions/fx and timing
  • Lighting was very good
  • While the story was slightly campy and silly, it still grabs your attention, keeps you involved and is well constructed.

And their mockumentary, “Shadow Hands” won for Best Comedy!

Written by Denis Falardeau and Dylan Adkins, Produced by Courtney Dunsmoor-Farley, Directed by Denis Falardeau, Edited by Justin Li, Director of Photography: Jordan Lee, Assistant Director: Lauren Weidel, Audio Supervisor: Dylan Adkins.

Shadow Hands: A Mockumentary from Zut Alors on Vimeo.

Judges’ Comments:

  • Great delivery- were they professional actors?
  • Excellent!  Drew me in after the slow beginning
  • Professional Actors?  Well crafted and good storytelling
  • Very well done, truly enjoyed it!
Tagged with: